top of page

DIALOGUES

ARCHIVE

TAGS

No tags yet.

Join our newsletter!

Find out about LPD events and new content

LPD Student of the Week: Paggie Tan


Name: Paggie Tan

Age: 21

Hometown: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Year: Junior

School/Major: Economics, CAS

Local Recommendation: Florence National Central Library is a great place to get work done. It’s also the largest in Italy, one of two central libraries in the country. I always make it a point to visit the public library because I believe it is a good indicator of the city’s culture, architecture and people.

Cultural Moment: I wore flip flops during a quick run to Carrefour (the grocery store around the corner) and a bunch of Italian men pointed at my feet and laughed at me. Are flip flops not a thing here?

LPD Reflection: When I was researching study abroad options, I saw that NYU Florence is the only location with a program like LPD. What struck to me the most about LPD was the Vital Voices: The Power of Women Leading Change Around The World panel. I definitely resonated with it because I’m a huge advocate of strong women, but I also thought that it highlighted the depth and breadth of the topics that LPD sheds lights on. As much as learning in the classroom is enlightening, learning outside is just as profound. LPD is a great avenue for genuinely curious students to learn about Italian or EU focused culture, politics, and an array of global and social issues.


bottom of page